Moving Estimator

Enter route details for best prices

Save up to 40% off moving costs.

ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines
ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines - CA -San Jose - Reviews
Contact Mover

ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines

1.0 (7 Reviews)
2295 Ringwood Ave, San Jose, CA 95131, USA
Toll Free: (877) 831-0043
www.abmvanlines.com
sales1@abmvanlines.com
The quick and easy money saver

Save up to 45% off moving costs.


, Movers, ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines

Review Summary

5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
7
WRITE A REVIEW
1.0
7 reviews

Kim Fitzgerald
Sep 05,2009

This company is affiliated with ASAP Relocations. My original quote was $320 (I was getting a 5% discount, so the actual price was $305). Packing supplies were supposed to be included. The sales rep assured me that, even though I needed my dishes packed, my move should not be more than the estimate. The morning of the move, the movers wanted me to set my Not to Exceed Limit as $800.00. I have a 1 bedroom apartment so I refused, especially because all the packing supplies were supposed to be included. I did not see how it was going to take the foreman's estimated 7 hours to move a small apartment. The foreman was deceitful and "offered" to not charge me for packing tape, but tape was already included in my contract. We negotiated and I set the Limit to $600.00. ABM's sales rep also told me that Double Drive Time was not applicable to my move because the move was only 3.69 miles away; the foreman said I would be charged for Double Drive Time, and that his office could not override his decision to charge me for it. ABM claimed that their movers are "well-trained" but the foreman had to repeatedly explain how to tape and pack things to his partner. Needless to say, the movers took a very long to get anything significant accomplished. After 5 hours, the foreman said they were "running out of time", and that they had to leave my things in storage. I hesitantly asked to change my limit to $800.00 (the original price). After 6 hours, my 1 bedroom apartment was finally loaded and ready to go to my new apartment. After being at my new apartment for 2 hours, the movers "ran out of time" again and asked for the limit to be set as $1000.00. I refused to pay this amount for my move when I was quoted $320. The movers unloaded my belongings (most of which were still in the truck after 2 hours of unloading) and left my things in the open parking garage of my building - I have pictures of this. They even dumped out the free boxes they offered me to use, so my clothes were left out in the open. I ended up having to pay my apartment's maintenance man's friends to help me move the majority of my things into my apartment and assemble them, which they promptly did in less than 3 hours. I asked the foreman for a copy of my original contract that I had signed, and he refused. When they told me they were going to leaving my things in the parking garage, the foreman was on the phone with his manager. I asked to speak to the manger, so he passed his phone over to me. I later asked for this person's name so I could call them in the morning, and the foreman claimed not to remember his name. I only received a copy of the Mover's Handbook at the very end of the move, and I had asked the foreman for it several times, and he made me initial that I had received it at the beginning of the move and assured me that he was going to bring a copy up for me right away. My total move was 8.4 hours in length, and I ended up with my things left in my parking garage because I wouldn't pay them $1000.00, up from $320.00.

William Loh
Feb 12,2010

Few days ago Feb. 5, 2010 I was at the bay area I had some furniture from the bay area to ship down to Orange County. I look under the yellow pages the company call ASAP Relocations also affiliation ABM Van Line They quoted me $535 over the phone packing should be included . When they came they wanted $160 for packing and fuel charge than they had me initial and sign everything before the final number. (I''m disable)I had my caregiver sign and initial for me because I was exhausted. (I could if I had to) I than when to rest and they finish after 3hrs. Next day I got a phone call a very rude lady call Linda gave me a break down tells me the cost now is $1050. I told them stair should not be charge because that was the original quote. She took that off and now is $840 but she said I had to send them half of $840

Brent P.
Mar 30,2010

Terrible. I wish I had read the reviews before agreeing to use this company. I had only a small amount of things I needed them to move. 1 bedroom apartment, only the large items (bed, drawers, desk, couch and chair, coffee table, plasma tv, 3 small side tables). My last movers took 2 hours to move my entire 1 bedroom. ABM, moving at a deliberately slow pace, took 4 hours to move these handful of items... just enough to go past the minimum 3 hours so they could charge an extra hour. They started the time at 1pm, but didn't start working until 1:15pm. They also charged an extra $109 for using extra packing materials: 4 cardboard boxes (including one box to hold the sofa pillows)?!?! They also have a strange policy of travel time counting double. What does that mean? It means if it takes 10 minutes to get to the new place, it counts as 20 minutes of work time. ?????? Make sure you don't waste a lot of time arguing with the foreman. You will lose, he will hold your belongings ransom while they are still in the truck, the movers will stop working, and the clock is still ticking on the move time! And if you try to call their offices for assistance, they will side with the foreman every time. Customer is not always right with these guys. A $200 job cost me $400. I'm just glad I wasn't asking them to move more of my stuff. A full 1 bedroom may have cost up to $1000! If I can keep just 1 person from using these guys, I can feel better about my experience.

Toya And Pablo Melendez
Jan 15,2012

Thank you for contacting the united states federal department of transportation office of the honorable inspector general, Oig.Dot.Gov@globalcompliance.Com, If the move was across state lines, please report it to the fmcsa by telephone! At 1-888-dot-saft (1-888-368-7238) Monday through Friday between the hours of 9:00 am and 9:00 pm est, Or online at www.1-888-dot-saft.Com Or www.Fmcsa.Dot.Gov. If the move occurred within your state, you will need to contact your state attorney general’s office! Contact United states federal bureau of investigation FBI Honorable frank Montoya, jr. Special agent in charge Phone 1 408 369 8900 Contact California state attorney general honorable kamala devi harris Phone: (916) 445-9555 Phone: (415) 703-5500 Phone: (510) 622-2100 Phone: (559) 477-1691 Phone: (213) 897-2000 Phone: (619) 645-2001 When you have a job to move a 3900 sq. Ft., 4 bedroom house, and you're paying by the hour @ $120.00 hourly, 4 (four) hour minimum per roni hayon, including double drive time payment, you, owner prison parolee roni hayon @ abm van lines asap relocations fast moves van lines inc, don't deliberately, purposely, intentionally show up in a truck that is too small to move everything in one trip. Red flags went up when the lead mover ,foreman prison parolee hector with prison eye knife tattoos on forearms, said that they wanted cash. I advised him that I didn't have the cash on me, and that I would be using the same credit card that I had used to book the job. He asked me to go to the bank and get the cash. I was 130 miles from my bank. So, since I was going to use a credit card, the moving company was going to add 5% on to the charges. What can you do at this point? You have taken time off from work and put your life on hold for the day. The movers are at your house. You tell them to go ahead. Then, I was advised that moving materials would be extra. I wasn't wise enough to ask what that entailed. As the first truckload of household goods was being unloaded at the new house, I found out that the charges included every roll of tape, every box, and every foot of bubble wrap. $30 for a box? Really? $10 for a roll of tape? Pretty special tape, I guess. I had no choice but to agree. I started out with a quoted minimum charge of $480 for 4 hours. I knew it was a big job, and might run to $800 or maybe $900. The bill came to $1580 regarding newman, california, to across the street, newman california!! Prison parolee billie jean ramirez aka melissa jimenez federal felony criminal case number c1196969 double charged my visa credit card $4000.00! Billie aka jimenez threatened me to call my own bank, more than 100 miles afar, and call visa credit corporate headquarter in foster city, ca, usa. Prison parolee adalinda reyna-mendoza arrested/arraigned/charged/filed/prosecuted with same federal felony criminal case number c1196969, threatened to Steal/hack/withdraw my daughter lisa's payroll direct deposit paychex inc paychecks! Via their "Granot software as a service saas cancellation policy deposit down payment credit card charging servers/emc data storage servers in mexico and israel if I even thought about calling my bank or visa credit to file fraud!" As the movers were preparing to leave the house at the end of the day, they threatened me for a tip because their company got all the money. What? They only work for tips? I was upset with all the extra charges by this point, but recognized how hard they had worked. I had $106 in my pocket (the week's grocery money) and gave them $100. I guess it wasn't enough. I received no thanks. Jessica@abm threatened me your daughter sandy (lisa) owes me credit card money regarding cancellation policy deposit! Notice: this email message and/or its attachments may contain information that is confidential or restricted. It is intended only for the individuals named as recipients in the message. If you are not an authorized recipient, you are prohibited from using, delivering, distributing, printing, copying, or disclosing the message or content to others and must delete the message from your computer. If you have received this message in error, please notify the sender by return email. Contact Santa clara county chief district attorney da honorable jeff boyarsky phone: (408) 299-3099 Berkeley k. New orleans, louisiana.... God loves you! Customers love you! Our children love you! Client victims love you! Credit card fraud victims love you! Lol laugh out loud? No! Why? On thursday, january 12, 2012, abm van lines asap relocations fast moves van lines sales secretary tammy (prison parolee) and abm van asap relocations fast moves saratoga city coca cocaine sales operation floor manager shlomi (israeli assassin, not united states citizen) called/texted/emailed/faxed/communicated to an lgbt non profit named jessica sandeep. Tammy and shlomi threatened to kill, hurt, beat customer melissa horn, district attorney tom thomas van dyke, customer lisa van dyke, customer lisa ruezga, customer dale robert edwards, customer sherrie turner, employee eve regarding roni hayon's penal code 422 crime, daily, "Wayne allen cheats on his wife with eve", employee mike regarding southern california travel with female customers, if they all testified in united states federal criminal cases as follow, 1. People vs. Roni hayon, case c1196969, 2. People vs. Adalinda reyna-mendoza, c1196969 3. People vs. Linda cortez, c1196969 4. People vs. Wayne allen, c1196969 5. People vs. Billie jean beatrice melissa jimenez, c1196969 6. People vs. Eran bar, c1196969 7. People vs. Shlomi shlomo perets, c1196969 First, we were quoted around $5400 for the whole move from ca to louisiana/nyc. We had already packed everything and loaded it into a storage garage, and we had sold 95% of our furniture, leaving only a piano and table. All they had to do was load it from the unit. Contact Honorable gordy bowen Criminal investigator-major fraud Santa clara county district attorney 70 west hedding street, west wing San jose, ca 95110 (408) 792-2937, fax (408) 286-2522 Gbowen@da.Sccgov.Org Contact Santa clara county chief district attorney Da Honorable jeff boyarsky Phone: (408) 299-3099 Contact United states federal bureau of investigation Fbi Honorable frank montoya, jr. Special agent in charge Phone 1 408 369 8900 Contact attorney general honorable kamala devi harris Phone: (916) 445-9555 Phone: (415) 703-5500 Phone: (510) 622-2100 Phone: (559) 477-1691 Phone: (213) 897-2000 Phone: (619) 645-2001 California public utilities commission 505 van ness ave., san francisco, california Cpuc contact: terrie prosper, 1.415.703.1366, News@cpuc.Ca.Gov Cpuc investigations result in enforcement actions And fines imposed

Roni
Jan 19,2012

I used American's best movers (1-877-635-0945) dba asap. The quote I was given prior to moving day was doubled on the actual day of the move. When I called to question this, the person on the phone, Adalinda Reyna-Mendoza, criminal c1196969, was extremely rude, and told me that I obviously don't know the meaning of the word "Estimate." she refused to tell me her last name or allow me to speak to her supervisor, eventually hanging up on me. The movers were unprofessional, smoking at my residence, with eyelid tattoos that looked as if they had gotten out of prison that morning. I was supposed to get a call when my belongings were picked up in California and again when they arrived at the checkpoint in colorado, but I didn't get either of these calls. Instead, I got a call at 10 pm Sunday night notifying me I needed to take delivery by 7 am the next day, even though I was on the other side of the state, having been told on Friday night that my delivery wouldn't be for "Another week or two." I called the company in San Jose and was told that those calls are just a courtesy and that they're not contractually obligated to let me know the status of my move or when I will have my belongings delivered. Again, the person on the phone was Adalinda Reyna-Mendoza, criminal c1196969, who screamed at me that I was a "Problem customer" and said that they couldn't even try to make me happy, if I wanted to demand things that aren't in the contract (like more than 9 hours notice of delivery). When the semi arrived, my mattress and box spring were strapped to the outside of the truck, because they claimed they had too many moves inside and that they had run out of the room. Almost every single box and piece of furniture was damaged or broken. I witnessed a mover turn a cabinet of mine onto its side, stand on it to reach a high box (clearly labeled "Fragile" and "This end up,") which he then pulled off the top of the stack to allow to crash to the floor of the truck. The doors to the cabinet he stood on were broken; the dishes in that box were shattered. Several of my items were missing, that I had logged on my inventory but which were not logged on theirs. When I tried to discuss my concerns with Adalinda Reyna-Mendoza, criminal c1196969, she actively screamed at me, called me a name, and hung up on me. Asked if I could speak to her supervisor regarding my concerns, yet she brought me to tears. I wish I had checked yelp first! From: Jeffrey f. Rosen, district attorney Consumer protection unit (408) 792-2572 Fbi raids fraudulent internet-based moving companies Santa Clara county district attorney's office and its bureau of investigation executed search warrants at the premises of three internet-based moving companies. Task force participants include the federal bureau of investigation, the u.S. Department of transportation, the California public utilities commission, Santa Clara county's department of weights and measures, the San Jose police department, the district attorney's offices of Monterey and Alameda county, and the u.S. Department of homeland security, immigrations and customs enforcement. Wayne Allen, criminal c1196969, Eran Bar, Roni Hayon, criminal c1196969, Jiminez, criminal c1196968, and Adalinda Reyna-Mendoza, criminal c1196969, have been arrested for theft-related offenses in connection with the investigation. Deputy district attorney Kenneth Rosenblatt, assigned to the Santa Clara county district attorney's office consumer protection unit, reminds consumers to avoid booking moving services over the internet or accepting estimates over the phone. Rosenblatt offers the following tip: "Do not hire any company unless they come to your residence and give you a detailed written estimate of the cost of moving your possessions." he also cautioned that since the companies investigated by the task force used names similar to large, and legitimate, moving companies, consumers should make certain that "What appears to be a nationwide mover is not just a fraudulent group with an internet connection." Consumers call district attorney's consumer protection unit at (408) 792-2880 Hector, sam and Jose, no way!!! These guys give a will not exceed quote as soon as they arrive. However, that quote is stupidly high. 11 hours to move 10 minutes away and I've done this before in way less than 11 hours. Then they say they will write on the company contract that they took less time then they really did if I will buy them lunch and "Take care" of them after the move is done. What a scam. They steal from the company and are quite blatant about asking for that big tip. To top it off. They did not unload all my items and claim the last box cannot be found. Do not use these guys. !!!! Owner Roni Hayon whom I happily divorced is being arrested: Http://www.Thecmsa.Org/html/communicator/1-lead-articles/1105-articles/1105-cpuc-investigations.Htm Http://docs.Cpuc.Ca.Gov/published/news_release/134181.Htm © 2012 I recently hired ABM, recommended to me through moving.Com. I used American's best movers (1-877-635-0945). The process of getting a quote was pleasant, and I had a good experience dealing with Billie in sales. However, I had an extremely unpleasant experience with the move itself. The quote I was given prior to moving day was doubled on the actual day of the move. When I called to question this, the person on the phone, Linda, was extremely rude, and told me that I obviously don't know the meaning of the word "Estimate." she refused to tell me her last name or allow me to speak to her supervisor, eventually hanging up on me. The movers were unprofessional, smoking at my residence, with eyelid tattoos that looked as if they had gotten out of prison that morning. I was supposed to get a call when my belongings were picked up in California and again when they arrived at the checkpoint in colorado, but I didn't get either of these calls. Instead, I got a call at 10 pm Sunday night notifying me I needed to take delivery by 7 am the next day, even though I was on the other side of the state, having been told on Friday night that my delivery wouldn't be for "Another week or two." I called the company in San Jose, and was told that those calls are just a courtesy and that they're not contractually obligated to let me know the status of my move or when I will have my belongings delivered. Again, the person on the phone was Linda, who screamed at me that I was a "Problem customer" and said that they couldn't even try to make me happy if I wanted to demand things that aren't in the contract (like more than 9 hours notice of delivery). When the semi arrived, my mattress and box spring were strapped to the outside of the truck, because they claimed they had too many moves inside and that they had run out of the room. Almost every single box and piece of furniture was damaged or broken. I witnessed a mover turn a cabinet of mine onto its side, stand on it to reach a high box (clearly labeled "Fragile" and "This end up,") which he then pulled off the top of the stack to allow to crash to the floor of the truck. The doors to the cabinet he stood on were broken; the dishes in that box were shattered. Several of my items were missing, that I had logged on my inventory but which were not logged on theirs. When I tried to discuss my concerns with Linda, she actively screamed at me, called me a name, and hung up on me. I never raised my voice and was only calmly asking if I could speak to her supervisor regarding my concerns, yet she brought me to tears. I have never, in my entire life, been treated so poorly by a professional company. Moving is an extremely stressful endeavor, and my experience with this company made my move a total nightmare. I wish I had checked yelp first! Warning ! Worst company ever do not do business with them!! Wow, not one good review. I am glad I remembered to look here 1st. Thanks Consumers who believe they have been victimized by one of these companies should call the district attorney's consumer protection unit at (408) 792-2880 From the office of the district attorney: Http://communitie... Operation "Move out" underway; special task force raids fraudulent internet-based moving companies News release From: Jeffrey f. Rosen, district attorney Contact person: Kenneth Rosenblatt, deputy district attorney Consumer protection unit (408) 792-2572 For release on January 18, 2011 Operation "Move out" underway; special task force raids fraudulent internet-based moving companies After a year-long investigation prompted by numerous consumer complaints, a special task force organized by the Santa Clara county district attorney's office and its bureau of investigation executed search warrants at the premises of three internet-based moving companies. Task force participants include the federal bureau of investigation, the u.S. Department of transportation, the California public utilities commission, Santa Clara county's department of weights and measures, the San Jose police department, the district attorney's offices of Monterey and Alameda county, and the u.S. Department of homeland security, immigrations and customs enforcement. Wayne Allen, Eran Bar, Roni Hayon, Melissa Jiminez, and Adalinda Reyna-Mendoza have been arrested for theft-related offenses in connection with the investigation. Others are being sought. The fraudulent movers offer low prices over the internet, but increase the charges using various scams, including fraudulently "Reweighing" goods and using extra packaging materials which are billed at exorbitant rates. The movers then hold the customers' goods hostage until those consumers pay the inflated charges. Deputy district attorney Kenneth Rosenblatt, assigned to the Santa Clara county district attorney's office consumer protection unit, reminds consumers to avoid booking moving services over the internet or accepting estimates over the phone. Rosenblatt offers the following tip: "Do not hire any company unless they come to your residence and give you a detailed written estimate of the cost of moving your possessions." he also cautioned that since the companies investigated by the task force used names similar to large, and legitimate, moving companies, consumers should make certain that "What appears to be a nationwide mover is not just a fraudulent group with an internet connection." Consumers who believe they have been victimized by one of these companies should call the district attorney's consumer protection unit at (408) 792-2880 Sue the scammers! Justice will be served! Consumers who believe they have been victimized by one of… read more » Hector, sam and Jose, no way!!! These guys give a will not exceed quote as soon as they arrive. However, that quote is stupidly high. 11 hours to move 10 minutes away and I've done this before in way less than 11 hours. Then they say they will write on the company contract that they took less time then they really did if I will buy them lunch and "Take care" of them after the move is done. What a scam. They steal from the company and are quite blatant about asking for that big tip. To top it off..........They did not unload all my items and claim the last box cannot be found. Do not use these guys. !!!! Well, it turns out that all of these bad reviews have ended up with the owner being arrested: Http://ronihayon.Com The story is the same: overcharging for packaging and also charging people extra money to get their stuff back. The da's number is (408) 792-2880 welcome to the relocations jungle, the haven of professional scam artists where licensed gangsters operate freely and openly under the nose of local, state and federal authorities. The purpose of this website is only to help those who want to relocate and are ready to contact a moving company avoid these vampires operating from san Jose California, that are sucking the blood of the san Francisco bay area shoppers. If you are relocating and you do not consider your belongings to be a junk, please read through the following page before a moving company calls you or before you contact a moving company. You should also ask yourself the following key questions before you decide to use the services of a mover: • what if my mover disappears with my belongings? • what if my mover does not deliver my belongings? • what if my mover increases the agreed price? • what if my mover says that it is fully insured and is not and my belongings are never delivered? • what if my mover promises a delivery date just to have me sign the moving contract and does not respect the delivery date? • what if my mover determines the weight of my belongings out of thin air even before the trucks are loaded and the scales station visited? • is the mover a member of the better business bureau (BBB)? • how many complaints have been filed against the mover at the nearest BBB? E.G. You may search the san Jose BBB database if the mover is based in san Jose. • how many complaints have been filed against the company by the federal motor carrier safety administration (fmcsa)? • what are the experiences of other shippers with my mover? Search the internet using the mover’s name plus “scam” or “complaints” keywords. Also, visit the moving scam blacklist. You’ll find below a full account of a relocation from san Francisco to Seattle using the services of a.S.A.P. Relocations, inc., a san Jose-based team of professional moving fraudsters. Relocations 419 recipe When a.S.A.P. Relocations inc. Contacted me on April 10, 2008, about my relocation from san Francisco to Seattle, I got e-mails from wayne@asaprelocations.Com that said clearly that the company was fully insured. I also discussed a firm delivery date and confirmed by e-mail on May 4, 2008, and that was June 1, 2008. E-mails from a.S.A.P. Relocations also showed clearly that the mover would disassemble and re-assemble my furniture. The pickup date was fixed on may 17, 2008 for June 1, 2008, delivery. I should also mention that it was a cold call from a company that I had not contacted before and I have a solid proof that they got my data from 123movers.Com that has a data feed subscription with www.Forrent.Com that I used for my apartment search. The first surprise, on may 16, 2008 I got a phone call from the driver asking me to disassemble and package everything before their arrival the next for pick up. When they showed up the next day I had packaged everything and their job was to wrap two tables with tapes. My boxes did not require extra protection. Guess at what cost? They charged me $310 for wrapping two tables! Adjust your seatbelt before we continue. A.S.A.P. Relocations tagged all my boxes and tables and when two guys were loading their truck I got another surprise - the driver told me how the move was going to cost me on the spot even before all boxes were loaded. I asked him how he determined the true weight of the boxes and he told me that it was only an estimate and that the company would call me after they go to the scales station. Later I got a call telling me exactly the same amount that the driver wrote on the contract in my apartment without even loading all boxes onto the truck and I am charged per pound!. The feeling of an ongoing scam was there but it was not bad enough yet. When two boxes were remaining on the 6th floor, the driver asked me to sign the paperwork. He checked all boxes where I had to sign and was showing a sign of hurry because they had to go to the next job. I signed without reading but at one point I stopped and asked him where I had to declare the value of my boxes since I received e-mails from Wayne saying that a.S.A.P. Relocations was fully insured. The driver told me that they were not fully insured and that I had to sign the agreement because he had to go! I was a little confused but after seeing them tagging all boxes I was confident that they had procedures in place to track all items. They left with my boxes on May 17, 2008 and I was expecting them to be delivered on June 1, 2008, as agreed upon. On may 31, 2008, I got no phone call from a.S.A.P. Relocations as promised by the driver that came to empty my apartment on May 17, 2008. On June 1, 2008, nothing. On June 2nd, 2008 nothing. I then picked up the phone and called their office and asked a bitch called Linda (the devil's spokeswoman) why they did not deliver my boxes and furniture on June 1, 2008, as agreed. She bluntly told me that they did not have to deliver on June 1, 2008, because I had signed a contract that showed June 1, 2008, as the first date available for delivery and that under federal law they had until June 22, 2008, to deliver. She then hung up and refused to respond to my e-mails when I forwarded her all e-mails from wayne@asaprelocations.Com that showed another reality (Wayne is their consultant and chief architect of this ongoing drama). Welcome to the a.S.A.P. Relocations world! Do not rely on anything these thugs tell you over the phone or e-mails, they know what they are doing. They are just trying to do anything to have you sign the contract for their services. I had planned all my move based on the fact that my furniture was going to arrive on June 1, 2008, and their consultant was the one who told me that if I wanted my belongings on June 1, 2008, they should be picked up 2 weeks earlier and we agreed on may 17, 2008 as the pick up date!. I sent e-mails to Wayne and he never replied and this is the consultant behind this scam. After sleeping on the floor for 9 days I got a phone call this time from the continental express driver

Charles Bluemle
Sep 12,2012

I don't know where to start, I would have to say that the decision to go with this company is my own fault.  I like to use a competitive local company if available instead of the GIANT company because I am in favor of small business and giving them opportunities to be successful.  Boy did I not think this through...with a move this large (distance wise) I should have went with a company much more capable and prepared to handle the complexities of a cross country move simply due to experience and resources. Initially I was told that I would need to provide 50% of the quote I received from the sales associate, Billy, which was at first $1740.90.  Because this was a corporate relocation, I needed to provide this quote in order to submit it through my company.  My company contacted ABM Vanlines directly to pay the quote in full but was told they do not except credit cards over the phone.  In this day and age with technology and being in the tech capital of San Jose, you would think a credit card authorization form used everywhere would not be a problem.  Linda, dispatcher, and I quote, " My boss does not like to do credit card authorization forms because he does not like to go through the hassle if someone doesn't pay, or files a credit card discrepancy claim to not pay."  Nevertheless, my company wired the money to my account in order to provide the payment in cash which I was told by ABM Vanlines is their preferred method of payment.  I should have known after this episode right away.  The movers showed up to my 2 storage units on August 8th, 2012, where I had my property stored, 2 hours late (not a big deal), but from the condition of their truck I already had a bad feeling about how this was going to turn out.  The truck was damaged, lift gate did not work, and the truck did not fit inside of the building, which I incurred a $75 dollar charge for distance.  I informed the sales associate at the time of the initial quote of the height requirement for trucks to enter the storage building and was told by Billy, the sales associate, that they would be able to have a truck accommodate the requirement, no problem. After the loading began of my property I was then provided another quote based on the extra weight and packing materials that the estimate had gone from $1740.90 to $4049.05. I was told that I would need to have half of the new quote in order to proceed with my move.  WHAT!?!?!?  Was my initial reaction!  Flabbergasted, but not because of the price, but because this was news to me.  I believe that ABM Vanlines should have informed me what the average cost is to move a residence of my size during our initial conversation as I am not in the moving business and have no idea how much a move like this costs, and not be blindsided on moving day. Look, my company was paying for this relocation and that was made known from the start and this was the first time I was made aware of this process. Needless to say, I did not have that extra amount of cash to give them at the time. The movers said they would take the initial deposit and they continued packing my property.    More than a week later, after I had arrived at my new residence, I called ABM Vanlines to get an updated timeline of delivery and they informed me that my belongings were still in CA because they needed half of the new quote in order to ship the items, and come to find out charged me another $75 for storage because of this mis-communication! I left it to ABM Vanlines and my company to work out the remaining payment details and started my drive. My company is a world-wide company and if ABM Vanlines would have done their homework they would have seen that they could have done the right thing and handled this transaction accordingly to possibly gain future business on our companies frequent corporate relocation's.  Next, we are now in the stages of contacting my company to again wire money, but this time my company is going to wire the remaining balance in full in order to facilitate this process as quickly as possible for me and my family.  On August 15th, ABM Vanlines received confirmation that the wire transfer went through to their account in full for the remaining balance of $3149.05.  ABM Vanlines scheduled my property pick-up with their 3rd party truck drivers sometime after the 15th and my property was delivered on August 28th, 2012.  The 3rd party company that delivered my property was out of NY and very efficient and accommodating.  My wife provided them a meal for their pleasantries and they left approximately 3 hours after they arrived.  After unpacking and balancing our property according to the ABM Vanlines inventory sheet, we are missing the following items: - Green carry-on suitcase (containing men's/children's clothing)-Black Old Navy bag (messenger style bag) containing men's coats-Toddler Clothing (shirts/dresses)-(2) 50lb weights (dumbbells)-TV Stand (natural wood, 4' tall) with cabinet on bottom containing a few items-Box containing kitchen items/home decorAll these listed items are very replaceable and not going to damper my spirits, but the principle behind how this is being handled is unacceptable and the reason I am writing this review. ABM Vanlines, Linda, who I have been speaking to on countless occasions, and I am sure is tired of hearing from me, has been ZERO help! She seems to have been through this song and dance many times due to the manner at which she speaks.  Linda referred me to her claims office located in Florida, but her company is in CA?, provided me someone to contact that she has been working with in the past, well her claims company has never heard of this person she is referring me to.  Apparently he does not work there anymore I am told.  I explained to Linda that we do not know where else to go or what to do.  Are we to just forget about our property and move on? Apparently that is the position Linda is taking telling me she checked their warehouse in CA, and nothing is there that we are missing.  Linda says, "There is nothing I can do."  I asked her if she contacted this third party trucking company that ABM Vanlines hired, and she stated, "NO", but I should call them!? Are you kidding me? I guess this is why they do not want to take the credit card because I would have stopped payment and made a claim to not pay due to theft and property neglect from services rendered.  This in hindsight is a lesson learned to use a more reputable carrier that will be able to facilitate this relocation process with dignity, respect, and professionalism towards customers paying 4k for moving services.  I appreciate a small business and its challenge to survive in a corporate driven world, but this is an example of why small business will never succeed if the customer is the one suffering at no fault of their own.  I currently have 3 associates that are relocating to the Chicago area in the next 2 months in order to join me for a company business project we have started.  That in calculation to the cost of my relocation would be approximately 12k ABM Vanlines has lost. I have made very clear to them but it seems they do not care one bit.  I guess they prefer to allow the larger carriers to consume them as a business as I am sure that is what the future holds for ABM Vanlines. You have been warned. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

Debbie Law
Apr 23,2013

I hired this company to move me from Tracy, CA to Bethel Island, Ca.  27 miles in all.  They showed up late... I had told them in the beginning that I had a 3 bedroom home, with 2 living areas and two dining areas, plus garage and patio.  When they showed up, I asked them if the truck they brought was going to be large enough, the foreman said no problem.  I had everything but furniture in boxes and ready to load. They took 6 hours to load their way to small truck.  They bubble wrapped or crated all of my furniture, including washer, dryer and refrigerator.  They took 6 hours to load the truck and it was full.  My garage, patio and clothing that they were to put in wardrobe boxes were left behind.  I was quoted 450.00 for the move.. They unloaded everything, left piles of bubble wrap and tape behind... My final bill was 1500.00 and then the foreman had the nerve to guilt me into tipping his workers.   I had to rent 2 separate trucks in order to move the rest of my things.  I am missing a steam carpet cleaner and a small hand held steam cleaner...   These guys are creepy dishonest thief’s...


Warning: mysqli_fetch_assoc() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, bool given in /home/topmovingreviews/public_html/moving.php on line 990

Company Info



ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines located in 2295 Ringwood Ave, San Jose, CA 95131, USA,San Jose,,CA , U.S.A View On Map, but moving companies covered larger areas includes states nearby.

See more movers in San Jose, CA
Explore more California Movers



Licenses & Certificates for ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines



Moving companies are required to register with the FMSCA (Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration) before they can perform interstate moves. You may click on ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines license numbers if you would like to view their record information.



ICC MC number: Not Updated
(Interstate Commerce Commission Motor Carrier number)



US D.O.T: Not Updated
(US Department of Transportation number)



Local State License: not provided




What is ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines cost for Out of State moves?

Based on reviews from our reviews database and information provided by our partners and reliable sources of people moving interstate, the estimated average costs, moving from International Van line Hub state or states nearby, are as follows.
Warning: Division by zero in /home/topmovingreviews/public_html/moving.php on line 1897



Average Service Price

Moving to the South East would be around $6,210.75. Moving to the West would be around $3,971.50. Moving to the North West would be around $4,351.75. Moving to the Med West would be around $5,196.75. Moving to the Far Med West would be around 3,929.25 Moving to the Far North Med West would be around 4,394.00 Moving to the Middle North West would be around - Moving to the Far North East would be around 6,633.25

Take into consideration that this pricing based on average size move.
It only means that ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines is Higher by an approximate of 22.8 % when it comes to long-distance moving average costs.


Take note that the prices provided based on data such as reviews and other sources. The estimated amount that you receive from the company is lower. Several factors, like shipment size, the distance between locations, and other services like Packing and assembly, will contribute to the price of the move.



Average service costs information



The average prices generated are based on our reviews of ABM America's Best Movers Van Lines. The rates will vary or change once you contact the company; usually, you will get a lower price in the estimate and go higher on the move itself.

There are factors like home size, the distance between locations, and other services like Packing and assembly.

The approximate moving costs are generated based on reviews on our database and data collected from other reliable sources and partners.
We based the calculations on five different prices based on five destinations or regions with five different prices. Also, the rates are determined by the moving company based on distance and season demand.

Our information based on the company's moves for a medium-sized house or a family apartment.
If you have a bigger house, move the price is going to be higher. And if you have a smaller house move, the price is going to be lower unless you have a higher amount of Packing.

Other movers nearby

Read before hiring

Moving Company

Most people are aware on how stressful the moving day can be. To help you lessen the load, we created a comprehensive ...

Moving Company

Moving is a very stressful and also pricey experience, as well as if you do not take precaution it can promptly become ...

Moving Company Packing Guide

Packing can be an intensely challenging step when preparing to move. It is during this time that most damages to goods...

Change

Before you can settle in, you have to ensure that your mail is updated to continue receiving your regular mail without any...

Best movers nearby

2008 - 2020 TopMovingReviews.com All Rights Reserved.