Straight Forward Moving

Straight Forward Moving - NJ -Jersey City - Reviews
 Contact this Movers

3.1 (20 Reviews) Write a Review


400 Duncan Ave, Jersey City, NJ 07306, USA | View On Map

Toll Free: (800) 864-8820 |
Phone: (800) 864-8820

info@straightforwardmoving.com |
www.straightforwardmoving.com

Home, Movers, Straight Forward Moving
(20 Reviews) for Straight Forward Moving

Shannon S

Aug 20, 2017

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Summary - * Easy to book through email. Great response from sales person. HORRIBLE AFTER BOOKING * Two day window for pick up and delivery. If want exact date extra $150 which they don’t tell you until after signing * Driver didn’t show up on first day, called at end of 4 hour arrival window to ask if come later or reschedule * Reschedule date for next day - driver still didn’t make 4 hour arrival window. NO CALL * Tried to get ahold of someone NO ONE ANSWERS PHONE. * Finally spoke to someone. Will not compensate me for inconvenience (I took two days off work and stayed home WAITING). * Driver comes 2 hours late, says nothing. No apology NOTHING * Takes an extra hour to go from old to new place when they are ONLY 10 minutes away. WHERE’D they go? * CHARGES ME FOR EXTRA HOUR that they were gone. * Stacks heavy and fragile CLEARLY MARKED boxes on top of light boxes crushing them * Leave trash in my garage. * Called next day to speak to owner. NO ONE ANSWERS PHONE or CALLS ME BACK. * Have not heard from them since. Found these guys on Movers.com along with other movers. The sales lady was very nice and it was easy to communicate via email. Trying to contact anyone on the phone was a different story. They had the best rate and good reviews from what I saw. I was only doing a small local move. I asked for a move date of August 1, 2017. ONLY AFTER I signed a contract did they tell me I had a 48 hour window of pick up and delivery. That meant that they would move me EITHER on August 1 OR 2. If I wanted a guaranteed date then I would have to pay an additional $150. WHAT!? I stuck to the time frame and took time off work. The evening before, the company called me and told me they would be coming Aug 1 between hours of 4-8pm. On August 1, I hear from no one until almost 8pm. The driver tells me they are running late and ask if it’s ok for them to come at 9pm. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? That’s arrive by 9pm and move the minimum 3 hours or more. I have a young son and that would have been too late. So I opt for the next day and take ANOTHER day off of work. The driver says they will show up between 12-4pm August 2. On August 2 by 3pm I have heard from NO ONE. I try to call the driver, no luck. I call the company number, I get transferred to several different departments before I’m placed on hold and then a voicemail. NO ONE ANSWERED THE PHONE. So I leave a message about how I haven’t heard from anyone and it’s almost 4pm. So I wait. 4pm rolls around, NOTHING. Again I call. I leave another message because no one is picking up. 430pm comes around I call again and leave another message. At this point I am furious, I go online to their website and have to find someone I can chat with. This is a person doesn’t work directly with the company but gives me the phone number and EXTENSION to get ahold of someone. FINALLY someone answers. I speak with Johanna. I explain to her my situation and explain how poor service this is. I have a mobile business myself and I know when I am going to be late even over an hour. These guys do this all the time, they should know how to figure out timing. I tell her I have heard from no one, left several messages, and have had to take two days off work. She explains that because I was given a 2 day window of pick up and delivery that they were in that window so she can’t do anything for me. NO, you tell me your driver is going to arrive in a 4 hour window and BOTH times they are LATE by more than an hour. I ask for some compensation and she again says that because I am still within my delivery window there is nothing she can do. Because the driver in on their way and I need to move, I keep the appointment. I ask for the boss’ name and when they would be in. The driver and two college age kids show up at 6:00pm (2 hours after the arrival window). It takes them 2 hours to load my stuff. That makes it 8pm. The contract I signed was for 1 hour travel to my place and 3 hours of moving, so 2 hours have passed for my move. My new place is LITERALLY 10 min away from my old place. I drive to get there first and I wait A WHOLE HOUR!!! for them to show up. WHERE’D they go? The driver comes to me and goes over the bill. THEY CHARGE ME AN ADDITIONAL HOUR - 1 hour to drive to my old place, 2 hours to load, 1 additional hour to drive to my new place that was literally 10 min away, and 1 hour to unload = 5 hours total instead of 4. I was PISSED. Realizing that the driver can’t do anything and will not unload my stuff until I pay him, I do so and plan to speak to owner next day. They unload very quickly even leaving trash that I have to clean up and packing HEAVY boxes or FRAGILE boxes that are CLEARLY marked on top of lighter boxes which crush them. Next day I call every hour or two and leave a message for the owner to call me because NO ONE ANSWERS THE PHONE always to voicemail. I explain that I would like to speak to the owner about my move and to please call me. By the end of the day I have heard NOTHING and I have NEVER HEARD from anyone since. I pride myself on hiring local people for local jobs and for costumer service. As an owner of my own business this was a horrible experience and a scam. DO NOT USE.

Contact

Joseph Herring

Sep 29, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I guess the title of my reviews says it all. Really this company is too good for any kind of moves. Their movers are experienced, skilled and willing to perform and the sales guys are simply amazing. They know their job and they know how to deal with the customers. I used Straight Forward Moving just a week ago while moving Vermont from New Jersey and got the best move ever. Price and service wise Straight Forward Moving is simply unbeatable.

Contact

P S

Jul 06, 2014

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Please read the entire review carefully to the end. I am writing this review so that others could refrain from becoming a victim. This company provided awful services, damaged my goods and took no responsibility of claim.   Claim experience: - They sign all contracts and paperwork (bill of lading, agreement etc.) in name of another company called Moving Cross Country Inc. but do their marketing and sales in name of Straight Forward Moving - My claim was handled by CSI (Claims Service International) and CSI told that per Federal law, they had 120 days to process the claim - I did not hear anything back from CSI even after follow-ups until the 114th day when CSI sent an email that their contract with Moving Cross Country Inc. had terminated and they shall not be processing the claim any further - When I called SFM, they told that their company went out of business and now doing business in a new name - When I asked that someone should take the responsibility of claim, they told that no one will do that as the previous company was out of business - When I asked for the new company's name, they did not provide it mentioning that I may write a bad review if they give me the company's name - Now, when I checked SFM's website again, it looked like they were still in business and when I asked for a new quote, I got one from them in an email - They even followed up on my quote which means that SFM never went out of business - I believe that they show contract with Moving Cross Country Inc. and in the end say that this company went out of business - I doubt that Moving Cross Country Inc. even actually exists - I smell BIG FRAUD here   Moving experience: - I moved from Eastern Time to Mountain Time so it was a cross country move for which I got an estimate of $1750 - I scheduled pickup more than 3 weeks prior for 2 PM on a Sunday, the day of my move - They called me at 10 AM on Sunday and said that they will not be able to make it by the next day Monday morning - When I told them that I booked over 3 weeks before and got this schedule fixed and that I had to catch my flight the next day, they agreed to send a truck on the same day - The truck arrived for pickup at 10 PM and after loading, they confirmed that the total amount was $2600 - I had not added any item to the estimation list that I had given initially but at the last moment, I had no other option than to sign the contract for that elevated amount - The delivery was also very late - after 22 days of the first available date I had given them - The driver who delivered, Sergei, was very rude and insulting in his conduct and language - He did not give me any notice before showing up and called me only 10 minutes prior to his arrival - I had to take a last minute time-off from work to receive the shipment - He was arrogant and offensive in his behavior and language; his tone always reflected orders above requests - He was driving a 'United Van Lines' truck whereas I expected an actual truck from SFM - this indicated something fishy as well - Upon delivery, I found that my 55 inch LED Slim TV had been damaged - screen and panel both were damaged - TV was packed in the original TV factory shipment box after discussion with and recommendation from SFM - The box was damaged on both sides by some heavy sharp object which penetrated the box and then damaged screen and panel - I had discussed with SFM before shipping about delivering expensive and fragile items as I was quite concerned about my TV that I had purchased for $1500 - SFM suggested to pack the TV in original factory package in which it was originally shipped and ensured that there shall be no damage in the move as the TV had been shipped fine by the TV company in the same package - Above, I have already mentioned my claim experience and that the claim for damage to my TV was never processed   The overall move was heavily loaded with monetary loss, psychological stress and tension.

Contact

L.warrington

Dec 19, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I was in for a surprise.... I applied for moving quote, but gained friendship. Absolutely reliable people. From my conversation with Mitch, the moving consultant, he painted the company as righteous fighters for honest living. I had my doubts, but after an extensive and detailed quote that i received from him, they did have the best price for movers from NY to Florida. i thought it would end there, but when the crew had arrived, i decided that i had never met such amazing people in a long time. Honest moving company, really... I highly recommend

Contact

Dgallagher

Dec 08, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I've been busy with unpacking my boxes and turning the new house into a home since I got the delivery from Straight Forward Moving. I told them I wouldn’t be at the new place for about a week around the holidays and really did a great job to find a move date that worked for me. In addition the kept my items in a climate controlled storage facility for free and delivered them within 2 business days. I've been meaning write an email and thank you for all your help with getting my stuff to me. So thank you, to you and your entire team. No damage to my electronics or monitors I had them crate for an affordable and worth while cost. If I ever need to use your services in the future, job well done.

Contact

Kim Webster

Dec 03, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I have used Straight Forward Moving for my move and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The salesperson was upfront and answered all my questions, Mitch is truly a professional, he was very patient and always willing to help, I probably call him at least 20 times trying to make changes to my list of items or having questions in regards of what documentation will be required, but he took care of explaining it to me. The amount I was quoted is the amount I was charged (no hidden fees) They offered full packing for a little extra but I had everything already boxed up. They also talked about all the possible fee's movers charge and made sure we knew about all of them before we even deposited. The guys were polite and professional. They showed up on time and ready to work, I couldn't ask for better movers, they were strong and very professional. They finished the job as quickly as possible. You guys got a great team of Workers! Great experience overall, their dispatch team is always helpful and always letting me know what is going on. I received my items a few days ago and I am very pleased with the services that definitely I will be recommending their services to all the people that I know. Great job guys

Contact

Mandy Young

Nov 28, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Beware of using this company or mover. We were up charged, they refused to fulfill the contract in terms of reassembling furniture, multiple items were stolen/missing, items that were not mine were left, and many pieces were scratched and damaged. Nightmare experience!

Contact

Dan M.

Nov 19, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Moving a few years back was such a pain, where my items were previously broken and a few items stolen. I was hesitant when choosing Straight Forward Moving due to my previous gruesome experiences. To my surprise and relief, the move went very well. On time, professional, and the best part was that none of my items were damaged or stolen. Thank you!

Contact

Peter A. Holst

Oct 28, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

There have been a lot of good reviews about Straight Forward Moving and I can never believe them unless I experience their service first hand. To start they took me through the process step by step which was great because im sortof new to moving. It was a good chance for me to try something new since I was about to move to Florida for long term business. I called them up and reserved a spot on a truck for the move. I was a bit doubtful when they told me my stuff would be put on the same truck as a few other moves. Nothing happened to my stuff, nothing lost or busted which is pretty impressive. Customer service was brilliant and they are really helpful. The moving team was also coordinated and well-organized. All in all, I give this company a my full reccomendation!

Contact

Dave

Oct 24, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Pickup was 4 hours late. Communication to the pickup driver is non existent. Hung up on. Things being packed were thrown together and ultimately were damaged in the end. Packing materials charged was $50 per box. Delivery was 4 days later than explained. 3 items were missing and only one recovered. That one item has taken over a week to be sent out to me. When talking with company representatives, their manner of professionalism was shockingly disrespectful. The supervisor I spoke with about all my issues is a joke. Less professionalism than the last person. Calling dispatch, expect to be on hold 15-25 minutes unless you hang up and call back. Don't expect emails on your delivery when they say to. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!!!!

Contact

Spencer

Oct 07, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

They were right on time, packed all my stuff in a little over an hour and were done with the whole thing in less than 5 hours. I wasn't as ready as I could have been, but they were okay with my last minute changes to the list and didn't change the rate per pound! Of course the price went up a bit but not a lot. They were extremely fast and courteous, I can say I was pleasantly surprised because I did not expect any of this from what I read online about the moving business. I would highly recommend Straight Forward Moving, both for the price and the service that I received.

Contact

Andrew

Sep 17, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

My family moved a lot growing up, so once I found an apartment I liked in, I stayed. For almost 14 years. I had planned to live there forever, but eventually even really cheap rent loses it's appeal when your landlord is kinda schmucky.  Anyway, after checking the web, I called a bunch of companies for estimates, but was getting pretty irritated with the process. Then a very close friend and co-worker recommended Straight Forward Moving - I called, got a very reasonable estimate, and scheduled my move.  Then had to call and reschedule. Twice. Both times, Stephanie was understanding and supportive. Once we had a final move date, the Straight Forward Movers were on it! They even called to see if they could come earlier than I had planned, which in hindsight, I should've agreed to do, but at the time didn't seem feasible.  The movers were professional, reliable and friendly (and had delightful Spanish accents too!). Everything got done with no damage, no fuss and no complaints. Couldn't have been more satisfied.

Contact

Melody

Sep 16, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

The movers who arrived did a fantastic job. In about five hours they had everything into my new place, every box marked and checked off (they put a number label on EVERY SINGLE BOX so you can verify that everything arrives, and they write on each box what's in it). As I unpacked, I found that NOTHING was broken or cracked or even scratched. This was just an amazing experience and I'd recommend Straight Forward Moving to anyone who has to move. (ALSO, the guy they sent out to give me an estimate was the most thorough and professional of the three I interviewed, AND the price they quoted me was better than other companies) This was just such a score all around.

Contact

Shikha N

Sep 13, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I recently used Straight forward moving for a move from Philadelphia to NYC. The items were moved from Philadelphia on July 24, stored temporarily in their storage units and then moved into my new apartment in NYC on September 13.   The entire process has been a complete nightmare: 1)   The movers were late both for pick-up and delivery of items, resulting in the need to take off additional time off from work on both ends 2)   They charged me for items that were not used during the move and are the reason that I have incurred damages to the items below: a.     Mattress box to protect mattress for dirt/elements b.     Lamp box to protect items from damage/dirt 3)   They tried to charge my double the price for storage. Accordingly, I had to make multiple phone calls before anyone called me back and they eventually adjusted the rate. 4)   At the time of delivery, they charged me upwards of a few hundred dollars for the move, claiming that the estimate was very off. This was especially frustrating b/c I had several phone calls/ e-mails with the sales rep outlining the items I was moving and using their inventory system. However, at time I quietly agreed to pay the additional charge in good faith that this was an honest mistake. 5)   At the time of the delivery, several things went wrong: a.     They broke the front door knob and did not even apologize b.     The movers were late to show up and very rude when they arrived c.      They lost the screws/parts for my bed and could not relocate them, which meant they left without reassembling it. It subsequently took me several attempts this morning to speak to a manager who assured me he would look into it and call me back. Now several hours later I am still waiting for a phone call back, with no assurance of when this might be resolved. d.     My lamps broken. One is missing a lamp shade, the other lamp shade is dented and filthy b/c they obviously did not put items in the box I paid for e.     My mattress is dirty b/c they did not store it in the box I paid for. f.      A few fragile kitchen appliances are broken b/c they completely disregarded the “fragile” signs noted on the boxes and as well refused to listen to my pleas to be careful.  I would sincerely discourage anyone from ever using this company.

Contact

Rick

Sep 08, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Let's face it - moving sucks. Hell on earth would be having to move everyday for the rest of eternity. So if you can say that you were happy with your movers - that is really saying something big. Straight Forward Movers are those kind of movers - fast, efficient, and professional. Even better - you want to hang out with these guys because they are completely chill.  They helped me move out of a pretty tight NYC apartment with narrow halls and a steep staircase - navigating large, heavy items like pros. Even more - they went beyond the basics - reassembling a dining room table that had been put together wrong in the first place. I tell you: Go with these guys - you will be ultra glad you did.

Contact

Amina

Sep 04, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Looks like everyone who gave this company 1 star had the exact same experience we did, this clearly shows that it is their MOD (also see http://www.moverreviews.com/). Straightforward moving doesn't do the move and doesn't do the claims, they are some sort of contractor. Once they make you sign they are out of it and you are on your own with Who knows Who.     1. I was quoted $1300 ended up paying $4000: The original quote was made low to trick us into the deal. I told Jake about our place 3 bedroom apt, 3 adults 2 young children. He recommended 10 boxes, i told them sounds a little low don't you think, but Jake assured me that their boxes are "big", but if I felt like I needed more space I should call and get an unlimited boxes package, which i did few days later. This time I talked to his manager Christina and asked for the unlimited boxes package. She quoted me $2000. How did this end up being $4000? I found out the day of the move: apparently the unlimited boxes package is the unlimited packing supplies package, I was still being quoted for 10 boxes. Why would I call you to get an unlimited boxes package because i feel like I will need more than 10 boxes if I am going to still be quoted for 10 boxes?! Anyway, it ended up being a lot more than 10 thus the $4000.   2. They were supposed to call me 2 days before coming to pick up: they didn't, I did.   3. They were supposed to come in the morning (9am), showed up at 4-5 pm (in a budget truck): thinking they were packing 10 boxes and that it would be quick. Obviously rushed through the packing, broke stuff, etc...   4. Promised a delivery within 2-5 days, apparently the 10 days on the contract is for far away places only (clearly they used that same line on many people judged by the other "real" reviews). The family slept 12 days on the floor!    5. They were supposed to call 2 days prior to delivery, didn't do it (again!). They called me at 5 am one morning to tell me they are 30 min away! Since , I didn't know which day they will show up i didn't have $3000 lying on the floor (I was going to go get money orders at the nearest giant they let me know when they will be there). They showed up and announced that they will not deliver until i give them the money, Oh and they don't take any money orders anymore just USPS. Seriously?! It is 530 am! I had to call my bank  get an approval to withdraw $3000, drive to $3000/$600 (do the math) ATMs... And they had the B@llz to call me and tell me  that they have a move in Ohio later in the day and that I should hurry up getting that money!   6. Boxes were crushed and damp. they broke some furniture lost our wheels so didnt mount the bed. I realized how horrible the packing was (they put gym weights on top a beautiful leather jacket).   7. Few things never made it to the house, we suspect theft (all small things that were in  containers that made it).   This experience was so bad, we will never do this again. I will take 2 weeks vacation, pack up my own boxes and carry them on my own back before I even think about giving those crooks my business again.

Contact

Bill

Sep 03, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I used Straight Forward Moving when moving from NJ to IL. The movers were personable, yet professional. I thought it was nice of them to call to confirm, along with when they were on their way, which in my eyes was good customer service. Although I was only moving furniture from a one bedroom apartment, they packed and loaded my belongings in a timely manner.  They took the stress out of moving in that they gave me the comfort in really knowing what they were doing. I was impressed with their process and in no time, all my belongings were packed and ready to go. It was a weight off my shoulders because staring at stacked boxes and furniture randomly placed along my apartment for weeks was driving me crazy. I knew once the movers packed everything up, I knew I was one step closer to my new home.  Without a doubt I would recommend Straight Forward Moving to anyone looking to have a smooth move.

Contact

Marie

Aug 19, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

When Straight Forward Moving picked up my household items in Bethesda, MD, they told me they would be delivered to my new apartment in Miami, FL within 14 business days of my first available delivery date. I wrote on the form that due to my condo building's rules, I cannot use the elevator to move in on weekends. They agreed and I signed the contract. When I called to inquire when my items would be arriving, the receptionist never had any clue as to when my items were being loaded on a truck or when they might arrive. When they were finally loaded, I was told they would arrive on a Friday afternoon. Although I specified on the contract elevator use only M-F 9am-4pm, the driver informed me he would be there after 4pm, so told him I could not use the elevator and he needed to come back on Monday. He agreed. On Monday I called and the driver was on his way back to New Jersey. Without notifying me, the company had decided since I was "unable" to receive the delivery, they needed to bring my items back to New Jersey and reload them. When I called to see when they would come back to Florida, again, no one had any idea. When they finally informed me they were loaded it was a week past the 14 business day rule and they did not offer to give me any money back. Furthermore, they came down again on a Friday night and I could not use my building's elevator. For fear of them leaving again, I rented a storage unit to hold my items over the weekend, which cost my additional money, as well as paying someone to move it in that following Monday. Furthermore, when I received the items, half or more of the boxes were smushed and my mattress was damaged so I had to dispose of it and get a new one. Many of the items inside of the boxes were damaged as well.

Contact

Sandi

Aug 08, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I signed up for 3 movers.  I got 2 men and a 13 year old child.  I moved more boxes and furniture than he did.  They broke some of my items and tried to hide it.  They asked me to sign off on damage to property before I would pay and before they started to off load my furniture.  They were late...showed up at 7:30 pm.  I refused to let them start move.  Said he would be back at 8 am the next morning, showed up at 9:30 am.  Finished move at 9:30 pm.  I sold furniture to the buyers of my condo.  They purchased my LR,  FR and kitchen set  They moved King and Queen BR set, one couch, and some other miscellaneous furniture.   They were not prepared for the move.  No dollies or shrink wrap.  They sent the second man out with the kid and they were gone an hour and a half.    DO NOT USE.  Please call me for more information 774-219-5400.

Contact

Chrissy

Jul 17, 2013

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I was lulled into a false sense of security because this company has a legitimate and professional appearing website and my experience with Christina from customer service was fantastic.  It all went downhill from there.  I was giving a "binding quote" online after completing a comprehensive inventory list.  When the movers arrived to move me out of my NY apartment, the foreman said he thought I had more cubic feet than the online inventory accounted for an increased the price by almost $300.  According to policy, they could not start loading the truck until half the total was paid, so I was completely stuck.  I tried to discuss this with the company, but they cited the fine print and said the foreman can change the quote as he sees fit.  The move out process was harmless enough.  One thing I found a little off-putting was that the truck was a Penske rental truck (with no company logo) and the movers were wearing t-shirts with a different moving company name on them.  Another sketchy thing that this company does is give 2 day windows for pick up and delivery dates and will only tell you 1 day ahead if and when they are coming.  I found out on the day of my pick up that my delivery would not be the next day (Tues) as originally discussed, but rather the following day (Wed).  I had to wait until Tuesday to find out that my delivery in RI would be Wednesday between 4-7pm.  I arrived in RI on Wednesday by 2pm to ensure I'd be ready when they showed up.  Unfortunately, the phones and internet at the main dispatch HQ were "down" all day and I was unable to reach anyone to confirm that they were actually coming, running late, etc.  I was able to reach customer service at a different number, but they stated that they were at a different location and did not have access to the information I needed.  They assured me that if they had told me they were coming between 4-7pm, they'd be there and the driver would call when he was getting close.  By 9pm, I had not heard from anyone, and figured they were not coming.  I slept on my hardwood floor in my empty apartment.  I was woken up at 10:10pm when the driver called to tell me he was over an hour away and asked me if I still wanted my belongings delivered.  I live in an apartment building that does not allow moving after 8pm.  I explained that to the driver, to which he said, "Okay, so you're refusing the delivery?"  He had no explanation for why I was not called earlier in the day, but implied that this was my fault.  After arguing with him for awhile, he told me to call the company in the morning to discuss rescheduling the delivery. I woke up early, sore from sleeping on the floor, and called the company.  The phone lines are only open from 9am-5pm and there is no one to answer urgent calls outside of those hours.  When I reached someone on Thursday morning, I was put on hold and waited for a manager to take my call.  The manager said, "Yes, I see here that the truck was on its way, but you refused the delivery."  After explaining what I had already explained to the driver the night before, the manager told me that there was no truck anywhere near RI that day, and the best they could do was to deliver my things first thing Friday morning (between 7-8am).  While I wasn't happy with this, I was powerless because they were holding all my belongings!  After another uncomfortable night sleeping on my floor, I was hopeful that my things would finally arrive.  After no sign of a moving truck and no phone call, I had to wait until the phone lines opened at 9am to call for an explanation.  I was again put on hold (I had spent so much time arguing with and being put on hold by this company, that I went over my monthly cell phone minutes and will have to pay an extremely large bill at the end of the month). Apparently the truck "broke down" shortly after leaving the warehouse, and they were in the process of putting my stuff onto a new truck and were hoping to leave by noon or so. NJ (where the company is located) to RI is about 4 hours on a good day. On a Friday in the summer, it's more likely 5 or 6 hours. I had been available for every arbitrary window of time they had given me, but I was supposed to leave for a wedding by 3pm.  When I explained this to the manager, he said, "So, do you want the delivery or not?"  That is when I lost it and started screaming at him.  In response, he used what seemed to be a few rehearsed phrases such as "things happen in life that we don't expect," and "I mean, it's not like we've had your things for 2 weeks without delivering them," and "do you think we're making money by keeping your stuff in our warehouse?"  Ultimately, the movers arrived at 6:15pm (nearly 2 days and 12 hours late).  The driver was trying to pull into the large circular driveway, but cut it too tight.  The foreman, who had already gotten out, ran to the truck to warn him he was about to hit the parking sign.  He was too late and was struck in the head and arm by the edge of the falling metal sign.  He fell backwards and had blood running down his face and arm.  911 was called.  As a physician, I provided first aid on the scene, and he was taken to the hospital.  The police came and questioned the driver.  By the time the truck was ready to unload, it was almost 7:30pm.  The two assistant movers did their best, but were clearly struggling without the foreman.  Again, according to policy, they could not start to unload the truck until I paid in full.  I felt that I should not have to pay the full amount and asked them to call their boss to see if I would be entitled to a discount after everything that had happened.  I was given a $120 discount, which was not even half of the amount the price had increased on the pickup day.  A number of boxes were crushed, likely because my items had made multiple moves between trucks and the warehouse.  A few items were damaged: bowls, glasses, tv stand, and frames, but nothing irreplaceable.    I was incredibly disappointed with multiple aspects of the experience and feel that I was tricked into signing a contract with this company because of a pretty website and impressive customer service before the actual move itself.

Contact

Get Moving Quotes

Mover Details Moving Company Business Info



In Business Since
USDOT#
ICC MC Number

People who viewed this also viewed

3 Reviews

Coastal Moving Company

Jacksonville, NC

7 Reviews

Moving Help

Phoenix, AZ

21 Reviews

500 Move

Glendale, AZ

2 Reviews
See more movers in Jersey City, NJ
Explore more New Jersey Movers

Search Moving Company


Read before hiring

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.