Great American Van Lines

Great American Van Lines - NJ -Jersey City - Reviews
 Contact this Movers

4.2 (167 Reviews) Write a Review


28 Halladay Street, Jersey City, NJ 07304, USA | View On Map

Toll Free: |
Phone:

sales@greatamericanvanlines.com |
www.greatamericanvanlines.com

Home, Movers, Great American Van Lines
(167 Reviews) for Great American Van Lines

Eleanor Moody

May 03, 2019

Interstate move from New York to Florida

The majority of fantastic action ever! Motivate and polite! Completely cost and also quick! In and out in much less then 3 hours with a significant storage space system into my house! I angle state enough amazing things concerning this business! Interaction was superior! If I ever before need to relocate again, this is my go to! Thanks once again for being for so outstanding!

Contact

Ramesh T Venkatesan

Sep 04, 2018

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Sales division will certainly work just untill obtain Order from customer (you). Once they reserve order, no person will speak with you and also they never problem regarding your items. Whenever we call for our item delivery, they simply address without feedback, really impolite practices in reply. We will certainly get whole lot of frustration in their response. They merely just do not care regarding our self regard. If you call for missing out on items, they will certainly take their own time for responding. They will certainly not supply things as per commitment on time. They will certainly likewise charge you much more thant what they dedicated. Please assume 3 times prior to booking order with this packers and also movers. On general my experience, I had some negative experience with this packers as well as moving companies.

Contact

Elnora Barringer

May 04, 2017

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I had a move last month for my daughter from NY to FL and it went great! My daughter gave the list and it was just what I had in my plans. At delivery, the guys came and made sure everything was reassembled and in great condition. I'm very pleased with this company I'm an old lady and my daughter was my main concern! Thank you again, Alex, and Kevin for great customer service and for such a great job very hard worker.

Contact

Elvia Cabrera

Apr 06, 2017

Interstate move from New York to Florida

This moving company was a night mare. The deceived me and overcharge me. The refused to unload my furniture until I signed and give them my credit card. Of course before I signed there were not total amount. Once they finished 9 hrs later, I was charged an additional 3 hrs. so call for "wash the truck, clean and wash the moving blankets." They sent 3 men (1 was a woman, that could not really do much moving). I had to hire 3 men at the end of the moving, because the complex I moved to had a time limit. During this time, the driver stood in the truck for the last two hours. I will never recommend this company to anyone. They don't answer their phones when you call for explanation. I have heard of these types of scams on TV, internet .... etc. trusted a friend for referral and no one wants to be accountable to this. Cause wall damages and some furniture was damaged. Again, had to spent money to fix the walls.

Contact

Manik Bambha

Mar 15, 2017

Interstate move from New York to Florida

These very polite guys came early and stayed late and had a strong attention to detail.i had belongings in three locations and they were more than happy to run all over town to pick up my goods. they have all the professional equipment for moving and protecting your possessions during transport. They also have the right equipment to protect your home during the move as to not damage your walls and doors. They arrived on time at delivery and i received the same professional and careful attention to detail that i received when they picked up my stuff. All my items arrived in perfect condition and accounted for. I would use their services in the future. I would also HIGHLY recommend their services to all. Thanks Great American Van Lines!

Contact

Gladys

Feb 24, 2017

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I researched a lot of moving companies and decided to go with this one because they sounded so professional on the phone and the reviews looked good. Well unfortunately that was the only good thing at the time because it all went downhill after they took my items. I waited 5 weeks for my delivery, when they finallly delivered my goods, and I realized that I had items missing, I was told to call the office and report it because most likely it was left behind. My first phone call was 9/14/16, I explained what items was missing, was told they will have someone look for my things in the warehouse and get back to me. I called again a few weeks later because THEY WILL NEVER RETURN YOUR CALL and was told they found my items and it will be put on the first truck going to Florida that conversation took place on the last week of September. I waited for my goods and nothing. I had to call back in November and was told they forgot to put my items in the truck, I was then assured it will be in the next truck leaving in less than two weeks. I waited December, January and February.. during which I call at least once a week for an update. WAIT!!! IT GETS BETTER.. So my items that I have been waiting for finally arrived YESTERDAY! but the most important item that I was waiting for and absolutely need (MY 30 gallon bin with ALL my clothes and sentimental items) was not in the truck even though I was told repeatedly that my bin was there. I called today and spoke with the most obnoxious person (Jason) who told me pretty much "oh well the bin must have gotten lost during the trip from NJ to FL". I begged him to please look again in the warehouse to see if maybe it was still there, or maybe call the other two stops before me (I was the last stop on the first trip) to see if the bin was accidentally left with them, this obnoxious Jason pretty much refuse and told me to file a claim. A claim that will not even cover for the price of the bin let alone all my clothes and sentimental items that was lost due to neglect. People I truly understand the stress moving causes and you all just want it to go smoothly, but with this company it will not. They pretty much stop caring after receiving payment. The secretary will yes you to death when you call, but they are probably minimum wage workers doing the best they can. The owner David is no help, he's always on vacation and the dispatchers are the worse. Stay away from this moving company. I'm not the only one giving a bad review. I would consider believing the negative reviews before the positive ones because I now wonder if the positive reviews were put there by the workers themselves. STAY AWAY please go with someone else. I would hate for anyone to lose any of their possession because of neglect and go through the ordeal I had to endure since September.

Contact

Sammy

Jan 04, 2017

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Great american van lines is truly exceptional .I researched a lot of moving companies and was lucky to come a cross Great American Van Lines .the most efficient movers I have dealt a single item was not lost or damaged .movers in picky up was very fest and also on delivery .we will recommend great american van lines to any one who need movers

Contact

Shlomo

Jan 01, 2017

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Great American van lines move me and my family from NJ to TX the movers in the pick up did a great job packing our family goods we have a lot of antique furniture and chaina .after tow weeks we receive our goods in dalas TX the movers who delivered our goods also did excellent job we will recommend great American to all our friends and family

Contact

Dan Bloom

Dec 05, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I just moved with the help of Great American Van Lines. They arrived on time and it was actually me who was not ready lol. I asked for some help packing and it was the best decision I could've made. Besides saving my sanity, they were really good. The crew barely took any breaks and my move took about 6 hours plus 2 for packing since I wasn’t ready on the day of pickup. The staff was good when calling in. All very were really accommodative when I called up with certain changes just a few days before. Awesome job people. The delivery arrived on time and in great condition! I will definitely use them again and will recommend to all friends and family.

Contact

Brittany

Dec 02, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

THIS COMPANY IS TERRIBLE. CHOOSE WISELY WHEN MOVING YOUR BELONGINGS IF YOU CARE ABOUT SEEING THEM AGAIN. I MOVED FROM NYC TO SOUTH FLORIDA AND SO MANY OF MY BELONGINGS WERE MISSING. I DIDNT KNOW UNTIL AFTER THE DELIVERY. I WASNT SUPER ANGRY AS MUCH AS I JUST WANTED TO WORK WITH THEM TO FIND WHERE MY STUFF COULD BE...THINKING IT WAS AN HONEST MISTAKE. WELL, IT WASNT. AFTER MULTIPLE CALLS AND SPEAKING TO SO MANY PEOPLE THE SECRETARY ACCIDENTALLY TELLS ME THAT ON THE INVOICE PAPER SHE HAS IT SAYS THERE WERE BOXES MISSING. OH REALLY?? INTERESTING SINCE I WAS THERE WHEN THEY MADE THE DELIVERY AND I WAS NEVER TOLD THAT. INITIALLY THE GUY IN THE OFFICE SAID HE DIDNT KNOW WHO DELIVERED MY STUFF CAUSE THEY HIRE OUT TO TRUCK COMPANIES TO DELIVER THINGS. THEN IN ANOTHER CALL HE SAYS HE SPOKE WITH THE TRUCK DRIVER ( AND DESCRIBED WHAT HE LOOKED LIKE)...WHICH HE DIDNT CAUSE I DUG UP THE DRIVERS NUMBER FROM WHEN HE CALLED ME AND THE GUY SAID HE DIDNT K NOW ANYTHING ABOUT IT CAUSE HE'D BEEN OUT OF THE COUNTRY. OF COURSE HE SAID HE HAD NO IDEA WHERE MY STUFF COULD BE. I FILED A CLAIM WITH THEIR CLAIM COMPANY CSI AND THEY DID NOTHING EITHER. I MEAN THE WHOLE THING IS A COMPLETE SCAM. ITS SO SHADY AND THEY'RE CLEARLY ALL WORKING TOGETHER. IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR BELONGINGS I WOULDNT USE THIS COMPANY EVEN IF ITS YOUR "CHEAPER" OPTION. THERES A REASON FOR THAT. YOU'LL BE LOSING MORE IN THE END.

Contact

David Cohen

Nov 15, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Great American van lines move our family from Allentown PA to MIami FL the movers did a great job packing our 3 bedroom house and the delivery came just on time driver call and say when he will get to us great American Van lines We are very happy that u move us we will recommend your moving company to all our friends and family

Contact

Silvia

Oct 21, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

1 BIG Advise!!! Run away and as fast as you can from this company. They will rob you like no other!!! On top a few stuff disappeared, they opened the boxes. It was total mess and the company doesn't want to make responsible for anything. When they got to my apartment to deliver my stuff couldn't enter because the truck was so big so they made me rent a UHAUL and requested another $500 when actually the guard let them in with a truck... the driver pocked $500 for himself. He wouldn't deliver my stuff, he had hostage my stuff until I paid him $500.... Run away... Believe me! Horrible experience All the great comments here I am sure that Jason from the company wrote.

Contact

Joseph Gil

Sep 18, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

It really annoys me when I see someone has written a bad review about Great American Van Lines. I have hired them 3 times in the past; the last one in 1st week of September. Each time these guys deliver exactly what they promise. With time, I feel like they are only getting better. Even during my last move, the movers showed up exactly on time. They were working with robotic precision while packing and loading all my valuables. I am yet to have any hiccups with my moves when this company is handling it. They deserve five star ratings for sure.

Contact

Karen

Sep 08, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

This company provides a binding estimate based on item inventory. Don't believe it! After loading the entire truck and knowing the move had to occur on that date, the foreman Jason held us hostage and demanded double the amount on the estimate. He said it was based on volume not items. When I said I was calling management and would let people know about this he threatened to take everything off the truck then and there. We negotiated him down a little but in the end it cost over $900 more than our contract stated. He had my daughter in a corner having a full blown panic attack because she didn't have the money and he demanded 1/2 up front. This company has done this to people before - it "happens all the time" per Jason's own words. Don't go with them - you will be sorry and they will blackmail you on the day of the move to get more money.

Contact

Simon Mccue

Apr 28, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I recently moved from New Jersey to Georgia and was referred to a moving company in that area. I received the best customer service the representative helped me with all the questions I needed for my move. I was thinking about moving my things myself but instead I found them and I'm very glad I did.. I like someone who has good business skills and is very professional in their line of work. I really recommend this to my family or friends if they move and need someone to help them move. I got to my new location in a timely manner and they took their time placing my things where I told them to. The price for the move was very reasonable for me three thousand to go from New Jersey to Georgia.

Contact

Denise J Thomas

Apr 18, 2016

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Please, whatever you do, avoid this company at all costs. If you care about you things, use another company. This is the first and last company I've ever used to move and I only used them because I was already in my new location more than 1000 miles away and they gave me the cheapest rate. They did go to pick up the items on two separate occasions at my pick up location but somewhere along the way they seemed to have lost half of the items they picked up. I fought for 2 yrs with their internal investigation company, CSI, which is a joke in itself and got nowhere. Their thing was, "well someone did sign for it so we are not responsible". My son did sign for the stuff not knowing that things were missing from the delivery as he nor I were present at the pick up location. Once I got in and checked the inventory I realized things were missing, important things at that, desk top computer, TV, play station plus games, important paperwork, out of 2 pairs of stools, I received one side each, etc... I'm not gonna bore you with the particulars. Long story short, they promised a $200 good faith payment if I agreed not to post any negative reviews or contract BBB. I held up my end of the bargain but I never received said $200. Called them about the $200 in 2013, they gave me a number that no one ever answers. Now the time has expired when I can file a claim with BBB but I can still post a review and I'm doing so now. Hope you think twice before using this company. They are liars and thieves and cannot be trusted. They lack integrity, which is very sad.

Contact

Lilly D

Dec 05, 2015

Interstate move from New York to Florida

It was a long distance move with full of furniture which was carried out by some trusted workers of Great American van lines. I am always very happy with the folks. I completed my third moves with them. It was a perfect transition. Workers started at 9:30 est. as stated in the quotation. Their performing procedure was very commendable. Used boxes to save from any difficulties or broken issues. It was completely perfect plan. And the wonderful move.

Contact

Rosalyn Danzey

Dec 03, 2015

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I was real satisfied with my move tday the guys were professional and they really handled my furnuture with care I was not totally packed but they still tiok care of me as a valued customer i will use this company in the future as well as recommend you to family and friends I was worried but these men took very good care of me as a customer i am very satisfied with my move

Contact

Steven Johnson

Dec 02, 2015

Interstate move from New York to Florida

Great American vanlines moved my family from Conn. to Cali. As smoothly and efficiently as can be done. Great team, professional, curtius and more Han reasonably priced. They quoted me a price and stuck to it... That alone speaks fathoms. No damages, packed everything properly and quickly, they even moved my grand piano (padding it and covering properly of course) I recommend their services and would use them again if I need.

Contact

Mrs. G

Nov 28, 2015

Interstate move from New York to Florida

I read the reviews at yp.com and thought I would cancel Moving USA which had an overall one star review and changed to great American which had a 5 star review at that forum even if I had to pay more. It turned out that they were no different. I later on found they had an F grade at the Better Business Bureau site. I first sent a list of items I wanted moved to them and they came back with an estimate of $1350. I asked specifically whether there would be surprises, whether there would be an increase. Nathan assured me that there would not be because the list was so specific down to the number of sections of the sofa, etc. He also assured me that the shipment would arrive on Friday, 3 days after pick up, and that David did not know about the schedules when he told me that it would not get there until much later.. In any case, Jose arrived with two other guys on Tuesday, the first thing he said that from his experience, my stuffs would be something like 750 cubic feet and not 425 cubic feet like Nathan had estimated. He also said I would have to pay the tolls for coming to pick up and it will be $94. I live in CT and they came in from NJ. I said where were the tolls and how much at each? He said the GW was $38 and some other places adding up to $47. Then he doubled it for going back. I said there were no tolls going back out. He tried to tell me that it was different for trucks than cars and since that made no sense even for morons, he finally cut down the tolls charged to $54. Then when I said that if the shipment was going to cost almost twice as much as the estimate, I don't have to ship it. He then showed me some place on his paper that said if there is a cacellation, they could charge me 20% of the shipment cost. He said something like $400. What I did not realize was that this cancellation fee can only apply only if you had signed the service order with them which I had not. I merely had obtained a non-binding estimate. I ended leaving out a lot of items from the list, still the shipment came out according to their cubic feet estimate to be $1864. The curious thing now was that he said he could make part of this into tips for the guys and himself. So I paid $264 in cash and he wrote a binding estimate for $1600. What I wish I had read beforehand was the little booklet by the Department of Transportation that he kept until the end to give me. All moving companies are required by law to give out this booklet to the customers to help them know about their rights. I leaned after the fact that I did not have to pay the 20 percent cancellation fee unless I had signed the service order which I did not sign until that day. I learned that with a non-binding estimate, I have the right to pay no more than 110 percent of that for them to release the goods to me, that with a non-binding estimate, they would have to weigh my shipment and charge according to the weight. Jose had me sign the binding estimate for $1600 that day so with that they no longer had to weigh the shipment and charged me based on cubic feet instead. All of these I did not know. Before Jose got to load, I tried calling Nathan to ask why his estimate was so far off, of course his direct line that used to be answered promptly was no longer answered. The company's line was answered by a woman who told me to contact the dispatcher, Jason or David, who also did not answer. The pattern is clear--they answer the phone prior to getting your business and once that's done, they stop answering. Messages are not returned either. In the final analysis, I ended up paying twice as much as the estimate since I left out almost a third of the shipment and still ended paying close to $2000 compared to the estimate of $1350 for everything. The booklet can be read online and it is a must read before you move, not after. https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/protect-your-move Sent from my iPad

Contact

Get Moving Quotes

Mover Details Moving Company Business Info



In Business Since
USDOT#
ICC MC Number

People who viewed this also viewed

3 Reviews

Dose Moving

Scottsdale, AZ

21 Reviews

3 Reviews

Coastal Moving Company

Jacksonville, NC

18 Reviews

Suddath

Jacksonville, FL

See more movers in Jersey City, NJ
Explore more New Jersey Movers

Search Moving Company


Read before hiring

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.